2020 Formula Classic Round 7

2020 Formula Classic – Round 7
WASCC Night Masters Meeting – 14th November

Unseasonal wet weather greeted the Formula Classic competitors for their final round of the 2020 championship. Sadly there was only a very small entry of 6 cars for the event and consequently the grid was amalgamated with the Formula 1000 cars.

The dry qualifying session saw Stuart Kostera take pole position in his Ralt RT4 from Harvey Leys’ Chevron and Craig Thompson claiming third quickest time in his Van Diemen.

The rain came on just in time for Race 1 and this saw Harvey Leys park up his Chevron as he has no wet weather tyres. Race 1 also claimed Stuart Kostera who pulled off after only 3 laps and he did not reappear for the remainder of the meeting. With the top two runners out and Craig Thompson struggling on old wet weather tyres Dave Turner in his Sports 2000 Tiga took the win, followed by Craig Thompson and Neil Woodward in the WARM owned Befa Ford taking third spot.

Race 2 saw the exact same finishing order.

Race 3 was looking like a repeat of races 1 and 2 however the race was marred by an incident between a Formula 1000 car and Craig Thompson resulting in his retirement from the race. Neil Woodward subsequently claimed second place and Glenn Swarbrick third spot.

Outright results for the weekend were;
1st David Turner           75 pts
2nd Neil Woodward         56 pts
3rd Glenn Swarbrick       52 pts

Handicap results for the weekend;
Equal 1st David Turner & Neil Woodward    26 pts
3rd Glenn Swarbrick                     20 pts

See you all next season!

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here