2019 Formula Classic Round 9

2019 Formula Classic – Round 9

Barbagallo Rob Janney Tribute Meeting – 26th / 27th October

The final round of the 2019 Formula classic season was held at Barbagallo, the meeting being dedicated to Rob Janney a life member of the WASCC and substantial contributor to the Wanneroo race circuit and West Australian motorsport. The weekend meeting put a bit of pressure on some of the regular Formula Classic entrants following so closely the previous round at Collie with a few of the usual runners unable to prepare / repair their cars in time. That said, 13 cars entered the event and it was good to see a few new cars and drivers in the field.

Russell Sewell, the WASCC President, brought out his big Lola T800 Indy car for the second time this year, Jamie Kirkhoff made his season debut in his Formula Toyota TRD, Bob Creasy ran his newly acquired Ralt RT4 and there were a couple of historic Van Diemen Formula Fords with John Hurney and Ray Stubber and Leone Magistro in his beautifully presented 84 Reynard.

Five races over the course of the weekend took its toll on a few of the entrants with some DNS or DNF’s.

 The outright positions for the race weekend were;

1st           Michael Henderson                       

2nd          Simon Alderson                                               

3rd           David Turner                                     

Handicap results for the event were;

1st           David Turner

2nd          Russell Sewell

3rd           Craig Thompson

With this being the last round for the 2019 season there is a rest period over the summer before the 2020 season kicks off around late February.

The end of season awards night will be held towards the end of this year. An invitation to the event will be sent to all members once the venue and date has been arranged.