2014 Formula Classic Round 7 Results

Shannon’s WA All Historic – 25th-26th October 2014 Well what a fantastic event. A big thank you to everyone for making a huge effort to get 45 entries in (enough for three fields of cars), including all of our international and eastern states visitors who left with very fond memories of this event, the competitors in it and the WA hospitality provided. The weekend saw some drivers and cars not seen on the track for quite a while plus a new addition, Andrew Nielson and his West, joined us for the first time. The racing in all three groups was very good with clusters of cars competing against each other throughout the fields, none more so than the lead group of four cars in the Formula Junior class, with a second covering them in all the races keeping the crowd and commentators very excited – and I am sure the drivers involved were as well. There was considerable activity in the infield garages with many a mechanic piecing back together cars that thought five races was a few too many. An unfortunate oil slick after Andrew Bryson’s new motor said “Enough” led to a massive off in the group1 race and also led to off’s in the group 2 race. The weather was very kind to us putting off any rain until after racing was finished for the day but by the end of it all I didn’t see any unhappy people, smiles were everywhere, so well done all on supporting a great event. A special thanks to Martin Bullock (Densford Civil) for digging deep and financially supporting the event and associated activities, also to Neil McCrudden and the WARM museum for not only accommodating some of our visitors but providing cars to anyone who needed one – there were 9 WARM cars running and 1 spare. A thank you to Brian & Anne Searle for also accommodating some visitors and putting on a function for them, to ICL (transport, containers, storage) for sponsoring and arranging the movement of the container for our New Zealand competitors and finally to the WASCC and staff behind the scenes who helped co-ordinate and put on this meeting. Results Round 7 Championship Standings
  • To be revealed at the end of year presentation – remember worst round is dropped
Congratulations to handicap winners on the day: 1st Henry Oosterbaan, 2nd John Rowe & 3rd Alan Ould VSCC Results:
  • Formula Classic Group 1 : 1st Harvey Leys, 2nd Ray Stubber & 3rd Peter Bowel (NZ/Qld)
  • Formula Classic Group 2 : 1st Michael Henderson, 2nd Shane Gifford & 3rd Glen Caple
  • Formula Junior: 1st Noel Woodford (NZ), 2nd Ray Stubber & 3rd Bill Hemming (Vic)
See NATSOFT for full results