2014 Formula Classic Round 4 Results

Spring Race Meeting – 10th August 2014 13 Cars for race one with Michael Henderson in the Ralt getting a different view of the grid, by starting from the rear following starter motor issues in qualifying. Michael’s ails didn’t end there, however, as after making his way to the lead loose wiring caused him to DNF on the first lap resulting in a safety car for a couple of laps. The door was now open to the others to grab outright points and Shane Gifford took the win with a very respectable 58.85 second lap from Leon Magistro and Lance Carwardine 3rd. Martin Bullock finished 2nd on the track but suffered a 60 sec penalty after creeping forward at the start. Race two saw Michael winning from the rear of the grid from a quick Shane Gifford and Martin Bullock, also starting from the rear. Leon Magistro’s drive shaft failed on his Ralt on lap 6 taking him out of the days competition. With Martin Bullock pulling out with oil pressure issues and Leon’s driveshaft failure only 11 starters where left for race three. David Watkins had clutch failure during the race causing him to retire after some dices with Neil McCrudden in the earlier events. The safety car interrupted the event again closing the field up, this lead to some close racing mid-field between Brian Seales, Harvey Leys, Glen Swarbrick and Colin McKee. Michael Henderson finished out front from Shane Gifford and Lance Carwardine. The two safety cars during the day played into the hands of the slower cars for handicap points with both Bruce Edgar in his Elfin Formula Junior, Glen Swarbrick in the WARM Macon and Jim Ridgewell in the Van Diemen picking up valuable points in the series. Lance Carwardine however did enough to extend his lead at the head of the championship. It was good to have Andrew Gifford able to attend the meeting, even if only as an observer, hopefully looking forward to getting back in the seat to better his brother’s time soon. Thanks to Michael for enabling the inaugural Formula Classic Creche after his corporate box was filled will children from within the group.   Results Round 4 Championship Standings Congratulations to handicap winners on the day: 1st Bruce Edgar, 2nd Glen Swarbrick & 3rd Jim Ridgewell WASCC Results:
  • Formula Classic: 1st Shane Gifford, 2nd Lance Carwardine & 3rd Michael Henderson
See NATSOFT for full results