2014 Formula Classic Round 2 Results

Autumn Classic – 27th April 2014 Our first event at Barbagallo for 2014. Unfortunately Neil McCrudden had a big off going into turn 7 during practice, hitting the wall and putting the Macon out of the days racing. Michael Henderson missed his first race for ages with gearbox issues and it showed with the new front row on the grid false starting, twice, in the first event until they and the new course starter got in sync. A couple of off’s in the first event by Kevin Taylor and Henry Oosterbaan, and some car issues for others saw only 9 runners finish of the 13 starters. The minute penalty applied to the first two cars saw Lance Carwardine win the race with a second going to a much improved Brian Searles in his Ralt RT1. After the first race events 2 & 3 were trouble free with great weather leading to very good times by most runners. Martin Bullock in his new Lotus 27 went within 0.04 seconds of breaking the Formula Junior track record – not too bad for his first race on this circuit in the car. Henry Oosterbaan showed the advantage gained by racing in Europe to finally break the 70 second mark with a 69.8 being his fastest ever at Wanneroo in the Alton AR2. Results Round 2 Championship Standings Congratulations to handicap winners on the day: 1st Colin McKee, 2nd Martin Bullock/Shane Gifford. WASCC Results:
  • Formula Classic: 1st Shane Gifford, 2nd Lance Carwardine, 3rd Brian Searles
See NATSOFT for full results