2023 Formula Classic – Round 10

Bob Creasy Memorial – Wanneroo Park 29th October

The season finale was a very well supported event with 17 entries, the highest number all year. It had been decided to trial rolling starts for Formula classic following the start line incident at the previous Wanneroo round where several cars were damaged.

It was good to see FCR Chairman, Marty Bullock, back on the grid with his trusty Chevron following an extended overseas trip. It was also great to see Andrew Gifford’s beautifully presented Formula Holden on the track again in its Mitre 10 livery.

Terrence Nielsen was making his first appearance for the year too in the ex-Rob Jordan Ralt RT4.

Race one was a bit of a none event following contact between Arthur Abrahams and Terrence Nielsen at turn one on lap one putting them both into the sand trap and track conditions deteriorated further with Allan Jones car catching fire. The race was red flagged and the remaining 6 laps were run behind the pace car.

With Jamie Kerkhoff on pole position for race two he made the most of controlling the rolling start pace and led into the first corner never to be overtaken. Simon Alderson was hot on his heels but couldn’t get past.

Dan Gate had forsaken his usual Ralt RT4 for the memorial event instead driving the Ralt RT1 that Bob Creasy had previously campaigned for many years. Dan finishing 4th in race two and was looking good to improve in the final run of the day.

Race 3 was the main event for the meeting being the Bob Creasy Memorial Cup. Jamie made his usual great start and was leading until his engine went of song a little and Simon was able to sneak by and claim the big prize. Dan great progress in race 2 came to naught in race 3 with a broken CV joint at the start forcing him to retire the car. It would have been so appropriate for Bob’s old RT1 to win the inaugural cup but it was not to be sadly.

A very happy Simon Alderson celebrating his win of the inaugural Bob Creasy Memorial Cup.

Outright results for the meeting were;

1st           Jamie Kerkhoff                                                 68 pts

2nd          Simon Alderson                                              65 pts

3rd           Terrence Nielsen                                             48 pts

Handicap results for this round;

1st           Lance Carwardine                                             34 pts

2nd          Jamie Kerkoff                                              31 pts

3rd           David Dreardon                                              30 pts

This is the final round of the 2023 Formula Classic season see you next year.

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here