2023 Formula Classic – Round 7

The Tyre Place Track Attack – Collie Motorplex 20th August

There were a small field of nine entrants for the seventh round of the 2023 Formula Classic season.  

Qualifying saw a close contest at the front of the field between Bill Norman and Arthur Abrahams in their Ralt RT4’s, Bill picking up pole position with Arthur a close second. Lance Carwardine qualified third in his Jane Brabham and Andrew Gifford 4th in his beautifully presented March 722. 

Sadly we lost Andrew Gifford during the course of race one with and electrical / distributor gremlin. Bill Norman led the field for the entire race from the starting light to the chequered flag drop. Arthur finished second with Lance third.

The second race looked like being a repeat of the first at the front of the field however Bill slowed significantly on the last lap allowing Arthur to overtake him for the race win. It turned out Bill had run low on fuel and was struggling to get fuel pick up at the end of the run. It was good to see Bruce Mitchell getting to grips with his Reynard FF2000 after a slow start in race finishing 5th ahead of the very tightly fort FF1600 battle between Glenn Swarbrick, Craig Thompson and Dave Dearden.

With ample fuel on-board for the final race of the day, Bill took off from second position on the front row to lead the race and to take the outright victory for the day. Arthur finishing second and Lance in third place.

Outright results for the meeting were;

1st           Bill Norman                                                         70 pts

2nd          Arthur Abrahams                                             65 pts

3rd           Lance Carwardine                                            54 pts

Handicap results for this round;

1st           Bruce Mitchell                                                        27 pts

2nd          Glenn Swarbrick & Bill Norman                          24 pts

The next round is at Wanneroo Park on Saturday 16th September.

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here