2023 Formula Classic – Round 3

100K Plate Wanneroo Park 15th April

There were a good number of entrants for the third round of the 2023 Formula Classic season. Sadly, many of our usual Formula Atlantic entrants were out waiting on engine parts / repairs for their BDA’s and as a result of their absence it made for a very different front end of the field.  

There was also the return of an immaculately prepared Formula Two March that had not been seen at the track for several seasons. It’s new owner, Andrew Gifford, being the brother of the car’s previous owner, Shane who’d had it in storage since he retired from racing. Andrew made a very good showing for his first run in the car, running on some tyres that were so old they needed to be Carbon dated.

Qualifying saw Allan Jones and Simon Alderson top the times with Harvey Leys, John Hurney and Lance Carwardine close behind them. Jamie Kerkhoff missed qualifying with an electrical gremlin but had it fixed in time for the races.

There was a long wait on the dummy grid for race 1 following a huge oil spill on the track from the previous event. The marshals doing a great job to get the mess tidied up but it took close to an hour before the track was ready again. We lost Bob Creasy’s Ralt RT1 in race one with fuel contamination issues. Allan Jones won the event from Simon Alderson and Jamie Kerkhoff.

Race 2 saw Lance Carwardine a nonstarter with a starter motor issue and Ricky Virago pulling off after one lap with carburettor issues.  Jamie Kerkhoff made a poor start and let Allan Jones and Simon Alderson pull out a small lead on him, however by the end of the race he had caught and passed Simon to claim second spot.

Race 3 saw Simon Alderson missing from the grid with a failed battery. Jamie made another poor start from the front row allowing Allan a small lead which he never relinquished, despite a few late braking moves from Jamie.

Craig Thomson and Ricky Virago were having their usual great battle in the mid field with their similarly powered Ford Pinto cars, Craig in a FF2000 Van Diemen and Ricky in a Lola S2000.

Outright results for the meeting were;

1st           Allan Jones                                                         75 pts

2nd          Jamie Kerkhoff                                                  58 pts

3rd           Harvey Leys                                                        50 pts

Handicap results for this round;

1st           Jamie Kerkhoff & Brian Searles                             37 pts

3rd           Harvey Leys                                                         30 pts

The next round is at Collie Motorplex on Saturday & Sunday 13th / 14th May.

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here