2021 Formula Classic – Round 8

2021 Formula Classis – Round 8

Night Masters Race Meeting, Wanneroo – 13th November

A good field of 16 cars entered the Night Masters race meeting, the final event of the 2021 season. Sadly the field was reduced by a couple of cars after qualifying notably Ricky Virago pulling out with engine issues in his newly rebuilt Ralt RT5.

It was a case of the usual suspects battling it out at the front of the field however ‘new kid on the block’ Allan Jones was keeping them honest in his newly acquired ex Ricky Virago Ralt RT5.

Race 1 was red flagged on the first lap after Bob Creasy’s Ralt RT4 stalled on the starting grid. The re start saw Marty Bullock take the win from Simon Alderson with Bill Norman coming third.

Race 2 saw Marty and Bill swap places at the front of the field will Allan Jones picking up third spot. Simon Alderson picked up a 30 second time penalty for overtaking under a yellow flag. This dropped him to ninth place in the results for race 2.

Race 3 was very good to watch with a huge battle between Andrew Nielson in his Ralt RT4 and Simon Alderson. Andrew keeping ahead of Simon to the chequered flag only to lose the place after receiving a 5 second time penalty for a jump start. Leone Magistro who’d been running reliably all day got a puncture in his rear tyre on the last lap and ended up in the sand trap. Fortunately no serious damage was done to his car although it was completely covered with sand and dust.  Bill continued his winning way with Marty second and Allan third.

Historic results for the meeting were;

1st           Bill Norman                                         70 pts

2nd          Marty Bullock                                    65 pts

3rd           Andrew Nielson                                  52 pts

Libre results for the meeting were;

1st           Simon Alderson                                  68 pts

2nd          Allan Jones                                         65 pts

3rd           Harvey Leys                                        56 pts

Handicap results for this round;

1st           Glenn Swarbrick                                     17 pts

2nd          Andrew Nielson & Harvey Leys             14 pts

This was the final race of the 2021 season. The 2022 season will start around the end of February / early March.

We look forward to an exciting year of racing in 2022.

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here