2021 Formula Classic – Round 7

2021 Formula Classic – Round 7

Rob Janney Memorial Race Meeting, Wanneroo – 17th October

A good field of 16 cars entered the Rob Janney Memorial race meeting. Seven of the 16 entries were from the Ralt marque. The weather was dry and overcast in the morning but the sun broke through later in the day leading to a warm afternoon. The local flies were out in force, lovely!

Ralts on parade

The field was reduced to 14 cars before the first race began with John Hurney withdrawing with gearbox issues and Harvey Leys pulling out after qualifying with fuel system problems.

Race 1 started with Marty Bullock in the lead and Bill Norman snapping away at his heels. On lap 6 Marty, unfortunately had an ignition wire come off whilst heading down into Kolb corner, effectively killing his engine. Bill following so closely was forced to take avoiding action and took to the grass sadly breaking the front left wishbone in the process. Both cars being towed back to the paddock at the conclusion of the race. Simon Alderson taking the chequered flag from Andrew Nielson and Stuart Kostera.

Race 2 saw Marty up and running again but starting from the rear of the grid prevented him from challenging for a win however he did manage to get up to 3rd spot at the drop of the chequered flag. Simon winning the race from Stuart in second place.

Race 3 saw the return of Ricky having fixed his fuel line issue. Simon continued his winning way in the third race making it a clean sweep for the day.

Allan Ould’s normally very reliable Aztec let him down this weekend with 3 DNF’s. The problem appears to be with the fuel pump.

Historic results for the meeting were:

1st           Andrew Nielson                                               70 pts

2nd          Leone Magistro                                58 pts

3rd           Lance Carwardine                            53 pts

Libre results for the meeting were:

1st           Simon Alderson                                                75 pts

2nd          David Turner                                      56 pts

3rd           Allan Jones                                         51 pts

Handicap results for this round:

Libre results for the meeting were:

1st           David Turner                                                  23 pts

2nd          Leon Majistro & Allan Jones                            17 pts

Full handicap results can be found here

MA State Title, WASCC & MSW results here