2013 Formula Classic Round 7 Results

Twin Trophies Race Day – 3rd November 2013 Oil Oil Oil! This was our last round for the season and a good field of Formula Classic cars plus a a couple of HSC competitors took our grid to 19. Unfortunately I retired after qualifying with broken valve springs and so sat back to watch the unfolding events of race 1 when the fastest Radical of Richard Bloomfield broke an engine and dumped a considerable quantity of oil on the track causing a massive exodus of cars in all directions as drivers struggled for grip. Unfortunately the wall at turn 4 took it’s toll on a couple of cars and Ray Robertson’s launch into the infield saw the Befa take a lot of damage to it’s nose area. After a delayed finish to race 1 we only had 13 starters for race 2, 10 starting race 3 and only 7 finishing the day still running, not a good day for attrition! We now have all summer to rebuild for next year where we hope to get two runs at Collie plus 5-6 at Barbagallo. 36 different competitors in the competition this year plus a couple of new cars coming out after rebuilds is all positive for the 2014 season, hopefully we can get most of us to the track for all the events. A special congratulations goes to the only driver who competed in all 7 rounds this year – Glenn Swarbrick, although having a few issues with flywheels at this last event. Results Round 7 Championship Standings
  • Results for 2013 – To be released at the windup, a few anomalies have been found and corrected plus drivers worst round has been dropped
Congratulations to handicap winners on the day: 1st Matt Lyford, 2nd Darren Smith & 3rd Shane Gifford. WASCC Results:
  • Formula Classic: 1st Shane Gifford, 2nd Matt Lyford and 3rd Leon Magistro
See NATSOFT for full results